How long does it take to get a concealed handgun license in Texas?

How long does it take to get a concealed handgun license in Texas?

4. Once I submit my application, when should I expect to receive my license? DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet.

Can I get my concealed handgun license online in Texas?

Online Concealed Carry Classes Now Legal in Texas In 2016 the Texas legislature passed HB 3784 allowing online LTC classes to qualify for the license to carry. It’s the same class that has been given in Texas for years, just available online now. Online concealed carry classes are finally legal in Texas.

Can I still get a concealed carry permit in Texas?

As of September 1st, 2021, Texas law no longer requires people to have a license to carry (LTC) in order to carry a handgun in most public places. See our Carry of Firearms page for more info on this new law. However, Texans are still able to get a license to carry after the new law takes effect.

Why do I need a LTC in Texas?

Without an LTC, you cannot have your firearm within 1,000 feet of a public, parochial, or private school. Of course, even with an LTC, you cannot carry inside the school without the school’s written regulation allowing it or with written authorization from the school.

How hard is it to get a LTC in Texas?

To obtain a license to carry in Texas, you’ll need to take a class and a test—actually two tests, but more on that below. While just the mention of the word “test” may result in cold sweats and high school flashbacks for some people, the LTC-related tests are generally not considered to be difficult for handgun owners.

What is required for concealed carry in Texas?

You must have a valid government-issued identification card, such as driver’s license from Texas or another state. You must meet all qualifications to purchase a handgun. You must pass an approved classroom or online training course and demonstrate handgun proficiency shooting with a Texas-qualified LTC instructor.

How much does concealed carry cost?

The fee for the original license is $20.00. The renewal fee is $15.00. Please note: A sheriff may collect additional fees necessary to cover the cost of processing fingerprints and the cost of materials for the license. In some counties, this results in higher fees.

How do you get concealed carry permit in Texas?

Online Class. Starting in 2017,the Texas License to Carry class can be taken online through an approved online course provider,such as

  • In-Person Class. The online class and proficiency demonstration together generally cost more than an in-person class.
  • Shooting Qualification.
  • What are the requirements for concealed carry in Texas?

    Permitless Carry

  • Permit/License: Texas Concealed Handgun License
  • Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
  • 21 years of age minimum*
  • Valid for 4 Years*
  • $40 Initial/$40 Renewal*
  • Processing Time within 60-180 Days
  • 43 State Permits Honored
  • 35 States Accept Texas*
  • State Population: 29,530,226
  • How to get a CCW permit?

    You are considered to be of good moral character AND

  • Good cause exists for you to be authorized to carry a concealed weapon AND
  • You are a resident of the county in which you have applied for a CCW permit,or your place of employment or business is in the county in which you
  • You have completed all the required training courses.