What are the parts of the macula?

What are the parts of the macula?

1 The macula can be seen with the use of an ophthalmoscope or a retinal camera. It has six clear subdivisions, including the umbo, foveola, foveal avascular zone, fovea, parafovea, and perifovea areas.

What is the macula in your eye?

The macula is the part of the retina responsible for clear vision in your direct line of sight. Dry macular degeneration may first develop in one or both eyes and then affect both eyes. Over time, your vision may worsen and affect your ability to do things, such as read, drive and recognize faces.

Can the macula be repaired?

Vitrectomy is a type of surgery to repair the macula of the eye. The macula is the center of the retina; the retina is the light-sensing tissue that lines the inside back portion of the eye.

Can the macula regenerate?

Unlike in fish and frogs, the human retina doesn’t regenerate, and the vision loss caused by damage to cells in the back of the eye – be it genetic or physical – can rarely be fixed. But new research suggests that regrowing the retina may not be science fiction after all.

What is the main cause of macular degeneration?

Wet macular degeneration is a chronic eye disorder that causes blurred vision or a blind spot in your visual field. It’s generally caused by abnormal blood vessels that leak fluid or blood into the macula (MAK-u-luh). The macula is in the part of the retina responsible for central vision.

What is the difference between the fovea and the macula?

The macula is the center portion of the retina that produces even sharper vision with its rods and cones. The fovea is the pit inside the macula with only cones, so vision can be at its sharpest. While the fovea and the macula have the same objective of providing clear vision, they achieve that goal in different ways.

What does the macula do to the human eye?

The macula provides us with the ability to read and see in great detail whereas the rest of the retina provides peripheral vision. Of all the different parts of the eye, the macula is where the most important images are created before being sent along the optic nerve to the brain, where vision is completed.

What are the components of macula?

Juxtaglomerular Apparatus. Where the distal tubule lies against the afferent (sometimes efferent) arterioles.…

  • Juxtaglomerular Cells. Enlarged,smooth muscle cells that have secretory granules containing renin.…
  • Macula Densa.…
  • Mesanglial Cells.…
  • Filtration Membrane.…
  • Juxtaglomerular Apparatus.
  • What is the difference between macula and fovea?

    Choroidal neovascular membranes — Irregular,damaged blood vessels that begin to develop under the retina in an area called the choroid.

  • Cytomegalovirus retinitis — Viral infection that affects the retina.
  • Retinitis pigmentosa — Genetic condition that affects how the retina responds to light; commonly seen in individuals with Usher syndrome.
  • Is macula a part of retina?

    The macula is the pigmented part of the retina located in the very center of the retina. In the center of the macula is the fovea, perhaps the most important part of the eye. The fovea is the area of best visual acuity. It contains a large amount of cones—nerve cells that are photoreceptors with high acuity.