What types of accommodation establishments can the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa grade?

What types of accommodation establishments can the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa grade?

There are seven main types of establishments that travelers can choose from such as Formal Accommodation (Hotel, Apartment Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Small Hotel), Guest Accommodation (Bed & Breakfasts, Country Houses, Guest Houses), Self-Catering Accommodation (Exclusive, Shared), Game Lodge, Nature Lodge, Backpackers & …

How do you become a tourism grading assessor?

A post-Matric qualification in Tourism, Hospitality and/or Quality Management; • Minimum 5 years’ experience in the hospitality industry is strictly necessary; • A demonstrable knowledge of domestic or international standards in accommodation and tourism products; • Previous quality grading experience in tourism and …

What is the biggest benefit of belonging to the Tgcsa?

The Big Benefits of Grading Being a TGCSA Graded Establishment wins your consumer’s confidence, instantly. It is that unspoken advantage you have over all ungraded establishments from the starting block of every race.

What are the three categories of room grading?

Room Type

  • Single: A room assigned to one person.
  • Double: A room assigned to two people.
  • Triple: A room assigned to three people.
  • Quad: A room assigned to four people.
  • Queen: A room with a queen-sized bed.
  • King: A room with a king-sized bed.
  • Twin: A room with two beds.

What are the characteristics of self catering accommodation?

A self catering establishment may be primarily one of the other accommodation types, but also offers dedicated self catering facilities. The unit should feature a fully equipped kitchen to cater for the maximum people to be accommodated (including fridge, stove, cutlery, crockery, cooking utensils, cleaning equipment).

What are the requirements of a 5 star hotel?

5 Star Hotel Criteria

  • Standalone concierge staff available at least 16 hours a day.
  • A high staff-to-room ratio—ideally above 2.5.
  • Multilingual staff.
  • 24-hour reception, room service, valet parking, butler, doorman.
  • Nightly turndown.
  • Daily housekeeping that is also available upon request at any time.

What is self catering?

In a nutshell, self-catering accommodation refers to a property which provides the necessary facilities to allow guests to cater (i.e. cook) for themselves. Whatever the size and nature of the property, self-catering accommodation means that you will buy all your own food and cook your own meals.

What is nature accommodation?

Accommodation is both a condition and a process. As a condition, accommodation is the recognition and acceptance of a set of relationships that define the status of a person in the group or of the group in a more inclusive social organization.

Why the accommodation was awarded the star rating?

It is awarded once an independent quality assessment is completed and approved, which helps all travellers know what to expect upfront from an establishment like a Hotel, B&B, Guest House etc. This means that it is possible for smaller B&B’s to achieve 5 Star Grading’s too – provided they meet the relevant criteria.

What is the Tgcsa criteria for a 5-star hotel?

To be 4 or 5-star graded

  • Accommodation must be available 7 days a week.
  • Dining facilities on site.
  • On-site parking.
  • Concierge, porter, and luggage handling.
  • Central business centre.
  • Range of other services such as babysitting.
  • Other exceptional facilities, such as a gym, beauty spa, etc.
  • Full housekeeping and laundry service.

Why is this system of grading necessary?

For those reasons, it is very important that the grading system should be used to understand the student’s knowledge. Grading system helps students figure the amount of knowledge they have gained. Grades can also help students making decisions about their career.

How many types of accommodation are there?

Pros and Cons: Different Types of Accommodations

  • Hotel. Hotels are the most traditional type of travel accommodations.
  • Motel. Motels are one-to-two-storey buildings with basic rooms, with one or two beds, a TV and a bathroom.
  • Resort. A room in a resort can look and feel a lot like a hotel room.
  • Hostel.
  • Vacation Rental.
  • Cottage/Cabin.
  • Loved Ones’ Home.

How are hotels in South Africa graded?

The Tourism Grading Council evaluates those South African establishments which apply for grading and grades them 1 to 5 stars (view Explanation of Star Grading Assessments below), according to the type of accommodation provided – hotels, lodges, b&bs, self catering, camping and backpackers.

Why accommodation is important to hospitality and tourism industry?

Accommodation provides safety for all those travellers who are unaware with the new places. It also helps the tourists to explore their desired city in a better way. It enhances the overall experience of travelling. Thus, the role of accommodation influences your holiday trip in many ways.

What are self catering accommodation?

Almost all self catering accommodation comes with full kitchens or kitchenettes and usually have private entrances. For families travelling with kids or groups, there is a lot of benefit to staying in self catering accommodation.

What is the role of Tgcsa in the industry?

The TGCSA is the official quality assurance body for accommodation establishments in South Africa. The TGCSA plays an important role in the quality assurance of accommodation products where these tourists stay and in their experience of South Africa and its diversity.

What does Tgcsa stand for?

Tourism Grading Council of South Africa

What is a Tgcsa grading plaque?

As a security measure and its previous design, the plaque reflects a serial number and a distinct message that the plaque is the property of the TGCSA – meaning the council is legally entitled to remove any plaque displayed on establishments that are no longer graded.