What are ICAO States?

What are ICAO States?

ICAO Membership The term Contracting States refer to States which have ratified or adhered to the Chicago Convention in accordance with the provisions of its Chapter XXI. There are currently (Aug. 2020) 193 Contracting States.

How many contracting states make up the ICAO Council?

As of April 2019, there are 193 ICAO members, consisting of 192 of the 193 UN members (all but Liechtenstein, which lacks an international airport), plus the Cook Islands.

What are ICAO requirements?

ICAO Council (36 States)

  • Air Navigation Capacity and Efficiency.
  • Air Navigation Capacity and Efficiency.
  • Security and Facilitation.
  • Security and Facilitation.
  • Economic Development.
  • Economic Development.
  • Environmental Protection.
  • Environmental Protection.

How many ICAO regions are there?

The decision increased the number of regions to nine, eliminated any overlapping between regions, included the associated polar areas in the regions, changed the name of the European-Mediterranean Region to the European Region, and established a North American Region to encompass Canada, the United States and the …

What is contracting state aviation?

(a) The contracting States recognize that every State must refrain from resorting to the use of weapons against civil aircraft in flight and that, in case of interception, the lives of persons on board and the safety of aircraft must not be endangered.

What is a contracting state?

The expression “Contracting State” refers to a State which has consented to be bound by a Convention, whether or not that Convention has entered into force for that State (see Art.

Is USA an ICAO Contracting State?

The following States were elected from among ICAO’s 193 Member States to the Organization’s 36 Member Governing Council during the 2019 ICAO Assembly. Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and the United States.

How are ICAO codes assigned?

ICAO code consists of 4 letters. Certain classifications among countries and regions are used in creating these codes. The first letter stands for the region in which the airport is located, the second is for the country. The other two letters are generally given in order.

What are the 7 ICAO regions?

Regional Structure History and Current Status

  • ​Africa-Indian Ocean Region (AFI);
  • Asia Region (ASIA);
  • Caribbean Region (CAR);
  • European Region (EUR);
  • Middle East Region (MID);
  • North American Region (NAM);
  • North Atlantic Region (NAT);
  • ​Pacific Region (PAC);

Where are the ICAO regional offices located?

​Bangkok: Asia and Pacific (APAC) Office. Cairo: Middle East (MID) Office. ​Dakar: Western and Central African (WACAF) Office. ​​Lima: South American (SAM) Office.

What are the ICAO standards and other provisions?

ICAO standards and other provisions are developed in the following forms: Standards and Recommended Practices – collectively referred to as SARPs; Procedures for Air Navigation Services – called PANS; Regional Supplementary Procedures – referred to as SUPPs; and Guidance Material in several formats.

Is there a moral obligation to follow the ICAO policies?

However, since the recommendations in the ICAO policies have been developed by major international conferences, there is a strong moral obligation for States to ensure that their airports and air navigation services cost recovery practices conform to the policies and philosophy set out in the ICAO policies on charges.

How do the ICAO policies on charges differ from the Chicago Convention?

The ICAO policies on charges differ in status from the Chicago Convention in that an ICAO Contracting State is not bound to adhere to the policies’ provisions and recommendations, unlike the articles of the Chicago Convention.

Do contracting states pay for international flights of other countries?

the charges imposed by a Contracting State for the use of such airports or air navigation facilities shall not be higher for aircraft of other Contracting States than those paid by its national aircraft engaged in similar international operations; and