What are the four stages of translation?

What are the four stages of translation?

Translation happens in four stages: activation (make ready), initiation (start), elongation (make longer) and termination (stop). These terms describe the growth of the amino acid chain (polypeptide).

Where does translation happen?

In eukaryotes, transcription and translation take place in different cellular compartments: transcription takes place in the membrane-bounded nucleus, whereas translation takes place outside the nucleus in the cytoplasm.

Which end does translation start?

In this situation, translation begins at the 5′ end of the mRNA while the 3′ end is still attached to DNA. In all types of cells, the ribosome is composed of two subunits: the large (50S) subunit and the small (30S) subunit (S, for svedberg unit, is a measure of sedimentation velocity and, therefore, mass).

What is the correct starting position for translation?

-Mechanism by which codons on mRNA molecules are recognized by anticodons on tRNA during protein translation. What is the correct starting position for translation? The rungs of the DNA ladder split down the middle and the uprights pull apart. New bases are matched up to the exposed bases on each upright.

What is the correct sequence of events during translation?

initiation, termination, elongation.

What happens after translation in protein synthesis?

After being translated from mRNA, all proteins start out on a ribosome as a linear sequence of amino acids. This linear sequence must “fold” during and after the synthesis so that the protein can acquire what is known as its native conformation.